Demonstration Page

The Virtual Power Plant Neckar-Alb is set up and operated on the campus of the Reutlingen University of Applied Sciences in the demonstration project. The project is being implemented with the Reutlingen University of Applied Sciences, the University of Tübingen and five small and medium-sized enterprises.

The program named Smart Grids and Storage is funded by the Ministry of Environment, Climate and Energy Economics of Baden-Württemberg from 16.10.2015 – 15.10.2019.

The Neckar-Alb virtual power plant consists of central and decentralized information management systems and includes numerous energy devices, such as a powerful CHP unit, innovative PVT collectors, a battery accumulator, the first charging columns at the university campus and other devices. The central element is a sophisticated control system, with which the produced and required energy can be used and traded optimally.

The expansion of renewable, but weather-dependent energy producers is gaining in importance as protection against overloading of power grids and energy-efficient handling. Therefore, virtual power plants represent important components for the energy supply of the future.

Demonstrationsprojekt Virtuelles Kraftwerk Neckar-Alb

Im Demonstrationsprojekt wird das Virtuelle Kraftwerk Neckar-Alb am Campus der Hochschule Reutlingen aufgebaut und betrieben. Das Projekt wird mit der Hochschule Reutlingen, der Universität Tübingen und fünf kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen umgesetzt.

Im Programm Smart Grids und Speicher wird das Projekt vom Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg von 16.10.2015 – 15.10.2019 gefördert.

Das Virtuelle Kraftwerk Neckar-Alb besteht aus zentralen sowie dezentralen Informationsmanagementsystemen und schließt zahlreiche Energiegeräte, wie ein leistungsfähiges BHKW, innovative PVT-Kollektoren, einen Batteriespeicher, die ersten Ladesäulen am Hochschulcampus und weitere Geräte ein. Das zentrale Element stellt ein ausgeklügeltes Steuerungssystem dar, mit dem die produzierte und benötige Energie optimiert eingesetzt und gehandelt werden kann.

Durch den Ausbau erneuerbarer, jedoch wetterabhängiger Energieerzeuger, gewinnt der Schutz vor Überlastung der Stromnetze und der energieeffiziente Umgang zunehmend an Bedeutung. Daher stellen Virtuelle Kraftwerke wichtige Bestandteile für die Energieversorgung der Zukunft dar.